2020 Board of Trustees

Lifelong learning requires real leadership

The Yakima Valley Museum is a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization incorporated under the laws of the State of Washington.


It is governed by a Board of Trustees composed of not less than 15 nor more than 21 members. In addition, the Daughters of the Pioneers of Washington and the Yakima Valley Historical Society each appoint one of their members to be a trustee for a three-year term. The Board is self-perpetuating and is solely responsible for nominating and electing the Trustees from year to year. Each elected trustee has a three-year term and 1/3 of the terms expire each year. 


At Yakima Valley Museum, every guest has the opportunity to pursue knowledge and fun in a way that is tailored to them. This pursuit requires strong, dedicated leadership. Our board of directors oversees the museum’s strategic direction, establishes policies and engages community members in support of the museum. We thank these individuals who contribute their time and expertise.


Nancy Kenmotsu, President 
Sally Tonkin, Vice-President
Juana Rezaie, Immediate Past President 
Carrie Gabbard, Secretary/Treasurer 


Enrique Cerna 
Cragg Gilbert 
Barbara Greenberg 
David O Gutierrez 
Sally Kransberger 

Bertha Ortega  
Michael Parry 

Akbar Rezaie 

Sharon Smith 

Betty Strand 

Curtis Sundquist

Bette Taylor

Ralph Thompson 

Dustin Yeager

Ex Officio 

Peter Arnold, Executive Director
Brad Hill

Leave of Absence 
Sabra Nelson

Charlene Upton

The Yakima Valley Museum conserves our stories to inspire our community, learn from our past, celebrate our present and guide our future.

© 2019 Yakima Valley Museum & Historical Society Inc.

2105 Tieton Drive | Yakima | WA 98902

Phone: (509) 248-0747

Fax: (509) 453-4890

Email: info@yvmuseum.org

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle